Will this stocking work for a 450 gallon tank ?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

anewbie

Fish Herder
Fish of the Month 🌟
Reaction score
I'm thinking of a 450 gallon tank - 10 ft long 3 ft wide and 2 ft high. The tank will have fairly dense plants in the back and some plants in the front.
--
4 mesonauta festivus
16 angelfish
2 chocolate cichlid
30 lemon tetra
30 white fin rosy tetra
20 pangio meyers
10 clown loaches
10 zebra loaches
8 flash pleco
2 blue phantom pleco

I'm a bit concern the lemon tetra, kuhli loaches and maybe white fin rosy will become snacks for the chocolate. The white fin are fairly large for tetra and the lemon are not small but maybe the chocolate has a big enough mouth to stomach them ? The kuhli are small but pretty fast.
--
Mod -- thanks for editing the post that was pretty silly of me but at least i am a newbie ;)
--
The required fishes in this tank are the angelfishes, flash pleco, clown loaches and zebra loaches. Everything else can be adjusted as well as the exact number of clown, zebra and angels.

Last edited:
In 450 gallons you will never see the Tetras unless they are in a school of 100 or more. Leave the Chocolate Cichlids out. Up the size of the schools of everything else.

Congratulations on your 450 gal tank.... I guess the better questions might be what can't you keep in a tank that large. If all the fish were roughly the same size at the start and there were PLENTY of hiding places you would see them at the start but as the fish age and grow in size few may go missing ... If it was me I would would go with large SE Asian arowanas and cichlids etc...Think of it this way a tank that large would allow for a complete circle of life scenario with life and death playing out among the denizens. Again good luck with your tank.