White Spot or Sporozoran?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

M!NK

Reaction score
I need a few opinions and some advice!

I have two loaches (Nimrod who, despite his name, is very loved and probably my favorite, and Priz). I had them for about three weeks in my planted tank when I noticed white spots form on their fins and sides. Originally I thought it was Ich (even as a total newbie I knew about it) and set to start treating it right away. However, about several days later, I noticed that literally none of the other fish had contracted the ich at all. Not a single spot on them-- just these two. Of four Gourami and a zebra loach (whose two buddies did not make it) only the Gold Zebras had the white spots, and the spots have not gone away at all from the time they've had them. They do the typical skirting/rubbing behavior characteristic of fish with ich, but I can't help but wonder if it really IS ich as I recently read a few articles about white spots on fish that aren't ich. I'll attach a photo or two of Nimrod and Priz as they are now. Please tell me what you think! (Photos taken 5 or so days into medication process as the heat method did not work)

[waters are tested and perfectly fine except for the nitrite level being slightly high but I've just done a 26% & 1 50% water change three times over the course of a week to help get rid of any potential ich floating around so the levels are good now.{

Attachments

• D38D664E-F70B-4E43-AD64-79F452C66FB7.jpeg
    D38D664E-F70B-4E43-AD64-79F452C66FB7.jpeg
    727.3 KB · Views: 213
  • 04C3868D-9D9B-476B-B613-7AE44088DC1F.jpeg
    04C3868D-9D9B-476B-B613-7AE44088DC1F.jpeg
    994.8 KB · Views: 233
  • 68149F84-7FA0-4C00-A7D5-C100CA596A39.jpeg
    68149F84-7FA0-4C00-A7D5-C100CA596A39.jpeg
    787.7 KB · Views: 199
What are you treating them with?

One of the fish looks really skinny, you can see its ribs.