White spot on black neon tetra

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Lama_cama

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new at fish keeping I set up my tank last October and then hadn't put anything new in for a good long time until about 10 days ago when I added a Betta, 2 new plants and a piece of drift wood.

I just noticed that my black neon tetra has a white spot on his head and the skin on his head doesn't look too great in general. He is feeding very well although seems a bit flightly.. he is not too keen on me staring at him to try and get a better look! As far as I can tell it doesn't look convincingly like Ich it's mainly one larger white spot then it looks a bit like peely skin skin over his nose and back to top of gills but could be more spots. I've tried to take a picture... is it worth increasing the temp a bit just in case? Any other suggestions?

DSCF7080.JPG

My black neons never did well, they were first in and I think were very stressed so soon I only had the one left out of 6. I currently also have 3 ottos (out of initial 4), 2 bronze corys (out of initial 4), 5 neon tetras (out of 11), 1 betta (new fish) and a LOT of cherry red shrimp... 100-200 probably. I hadn't had any sick fish in quite a long time. I have quite a lot of plants in the tank too.

I hadn't planned on getting the Betta but stupidly took the kids to buy new fish... we did choose one that was ignoring other males in tanks nearby and I have never seen him react in any way to the fish that were already in my tank since adding him and they don't seem particularly bothered by him but I guess the black tetra could be a bit stressed with the new addition. Luckily the Betta seems a poor shrimp hunter too.

Any advice greatly appreciated, thanks!
Laura

(PS that is a photo behind the tank! they are not stared at from both sides :) )

First things first.
How big is your tank?
What are your parameters? (Ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, ect)