White dots on glass

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Dephea

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi

(disclaimer: English is not my first language and I am new to the fish hobby so please go easy on me)

I currently own a 150L tank with tropical fish. It is still a work in progress thing but I am taking it slowly as until about 3 months ago I truly believed I can't keep fish alive.

Inside I have 6 rummy nose tetras (unsexed), 5 gouramis* (1M, 4F) and 3 clown loaches (unsexed). Now before I get told off for the latter - I am fully aware loaches will grow and will require a huge tank. Depending on how my fish tank will do I consider getting a custom made tank that fits in my living room between two chimney breasts. That would be a 750-800L tank that I already had priced so as soon as the living room renovation is done I can order it to be made. If my fish hobby fails I will make sure that the loaches go to a suitable home where they can enjoy a big tank. That was already checked by me with my local fish shop owner so I am confident that one way or another they will have a good home whether here or with someone else.

Ammonia is on 0ppm, Nitrite very rarely shows 0.25ppm, usually I am on 0ppm too. My pH is between 6.5-7.0 (I use the water drop test and I find those two colours very close on the chart so I'm not 100% sure. I have the tank for roughly 3 months now and so far I had zero dead fish so I am going to believe I did well in terms of the water quality. I do water changes weekly, between 20-30L - this is based purely on how long it takes to vacuum the gravel).

Now, to the issue.