The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Ch4rlie

Moderate Moderating Moderator
Staff member
Global Moderator ⚒️
Reaction score
I have recently purchased a Whiptail Catfish - Rineloricaria lanceolata, doing real well and feeding on Hikari Algae Wafers and peas, not tried any other vegetables yet.

Is there any recomendations for a good varied diet for this guy?
Hikari Carnivore Pellets or Hkari Sinking Pellets for example and what kinds of vegetables is suitable?
Do these vegetables need to be specially prepared or cooked?

The tank is a 20 gal / 75 litre, 30 x 12 x 15 inches.
Water is pH 7.8, hardness approximately 215 or 15 deg german, temp at 77F / 25C.

This is my first time having a bottom dweller fish so this is a kinda new area for me, hence all these questions.

Feel like a newbie again asking these basic questions   :p

I am very fond of the Whiptail catfish, and I think I have had one (or more) throughout my time keeping fish.  There are three species commonly seen in the hobby, R. parva, R. lanceolata and R. fallax; they have slight variation in pattern, and in the placement of the ventral scutes, but all three are identical in maintenance.  It is possible that some fish in the hobby are hybrids between these and other species.  There are presently more than 60 distinct described species in the genus, distributed from Panama down to northern Argentina, and on both sides of the Andes.  This is the largest number of species in any Loricariinae genus. In 2008 alone, some 14 new species were described as Rineloricaria. I presently have one Rineloricaria parva and two of the so-called "Red Lizard" whiptails which are considered by most sources to be derived from one of the species as opposed to being a natural distinct species.