What size pressurized Co2 tank to get

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Pescado Guy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I was hoping to soon buy a Pressurized CO2 system for my live plants. I have a 29 gallon aquarium with an ideal ph of 6.0. I will have a ph controler. I am thinking of getting either a 2.5 lb or a 5 lb tank. Does anyone know how long aproximatly these will last under my conditions? I know there must be many other factors involved but an aproximate length of time would be great to know. Also does anyone know of a place where I could get one of these for pretty cheap? Maybe like Home Depot or Lows? Also where would I go
fill it up after it has been used? Would either of the before mentioned places fill these tanks for me? Any help would be great!! Thanks!

Kevin

Not too sure about how long the Co2 would last since I'm a bit new to the planted aquarium scene myself.

You might want to try a local welding supply shop to see about the possibilities of either buying or renting a tank. They usually carry different types of gases on hand and might be able to tell you who their supplier is, so that you can go directly to the source and cut out the middle man.

I know that they (The gas supply company) would be willing to sell/rent a tank to you and you would have a better pick of sizes to choose from. From then on you could simply just go back and get a refill or swap out the tank, depending on the route you take.

Scuba shops also carry the tanks in various sizes that could be used to hold the Co2 but they won't be able to fill them.

Hope this helps. :)

Ok thanks!

I called about 10 local welding shops and the smallest tank that I could find was 30lbs! Thats a bit too big for my little tank but thanks for the advice. I might try to get one from some beer shop or something like that. Thanks

Kevin