The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

VioletThePurple

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I want to help out my dying plants. I recently switched out my gravel substrate to sand. I wanted dirt instead but was told that cories need sand. I'm new to keeping live plants and there's only one product near me that says plant fertilizer. The other products help in different ways. There are iron plant supplements, potassium, root tabs. Idk what I need. I've heard horror stories that getting the wrong plant booster can lead to an ammonia spike. Also, what are root tabs. I also need something without copper as I have the cories and snails.

The balance of light and nutrients is what we aim for, and it is not really complicated. If your plants are "dying," it could be either or both the light and nutrients. Some nutrients come from the fish being fed, but this may or may not be sufficient depending upon the plant species and number and the fish load. Can you post a photo or two of the plant issues?

As for nutrients, if supplements are needed, you want a complete or comprehensive supplement, assuming you are running a low-tech or natural planted tank rather than a high-tech with diffused CO2 and more intense light. Do not start dosing any nutrient alone, this is one way to really cause issues. Plants need 17 nutrients, some of which (oxygen, hydrogen, carbon) should come from the tank regardless, while others occur in fish foods and with water changes. A photo of the tank will allow us to determine the situation.

You will not have ammonia issues with comprehensive supplements. In any event, most aquatic plants use ammonia/ammonium as their preferred source of nitrogen (not nitrate) and with good plant growth they will readily assimilate all of it. Floating plants are ideal at this. As for copper, this is a micro-nutrient and the level in the quality comprehensive supplements is no where near sufficient to kill snails or fish.