What Do I Need? [warning: Long Post]

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

lukestanislaus

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi guys I'm new to this great forum but I've had a fish tank at a few points since I was 5 or so, including tropical fish, but nothing too fancy, mostly cared for by my father. I have never heard of cycling (But I'm learning ;)) before so that might give you an idea of my lack of experiance.

I decided I'd like to get back into it but this time actually do the research and mix fish properly. In the past I had no idea about which fish work with other species etc so I'm trying to figure it out.

I got a box of spare equipment from a friend so what I have now includes:
Tank: ~90L / ~23gallon (L=78cm H=38cm W=30cm)
Light: 70cm flourencent light (Sory don't know the wattage)
Heater: ~30cm long rod heater, 240v 100w

Filter: "Under gravel filter" that does not appear to have a power point or anything, all it appears to be is a bunch of plastic white grates that connect together (Which I assume I am supposed to put gravel on top of), there are two plactic hollow tubes coming up from the grates that have an aerator tube running up though them. Do I use an aerator to power this or something (I don't have an aerator at this point)? I don't know how this works, my friend just told me it was a filter

I also have a filter which I know for a fact generates quite a strong current underwater. It has a few specs listed on it which I dont understand so I'll repeat them

Liquid filter 230v, 8.5W
520L/h Hmin .85m

It has a sponge inside and sucks water up through the sponge and expels it through a small hole at the top

Is this suitable or big enough for my tank and how should I position it, if not what kind of filter should I be buying?

Also most of the equipment is pretty dusty, any special method I should use to clean it (and the gravel)?

FISH: