Very High Nitrates And Nitrites

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

pilotdave1970

Reaction score
I have 2 small aquariums and yes I am a newbie. I have read the forums and still seem a little confused on what is going on. Here is my scenario;

5 gal Hex-5 with 4 Neon Tetra, 3 Serpae Tetra, 1 Pleco.
3 gal - with 4 African Dwarf Frogs

Both tanks are reading on the 5 in 1 strip very high Nitrates and Nitrites. I have faithfully done water changes as recommended with Cycle Treatment in both tanks. I have vacuumed the gravel very well. The only thing I can think as a shot in the dark with this. I am only into my 3rd week with both tanks. The fish and frogs are acting very normal and have healthy appetites. I am feeding every other day. I am posting this because I have had so many pet stores tell me different things. I have even added Aquarium rock salt. Water is very clear in both tanks.

Any ideas

Dave

I have 2 small aquariums and yes I am a newbie. I have read the forums and still seem a little confused on what is going on. Here is my scenario;

5 gal Hex-5 with 4 Neon Tetra, 3 Serpae Tetra, 1 Pleco.
3 gal - with 4 African Dwarf Frogs

Both tanks are reading on the 5 in 1 strip very high Nitrates and Nitrites. I have faithfully done water changes as recommended with Cycle Treatment in both tanks. I have vacuumed the gravel very well. The only thing I can think as a shot in the dark with this. I am only into my 3rd week with both tanks. The fish and frogs are acting very normal and have healthy appetites. I am feeding every other day. I am posting this because I have had so many pet stores tell me different things. I have even added Aquarium rock salt. Water is very clear in both tanks.

Any ideas

Dave

Dave,