Vacuuming a tank withshimp in it.

Retired Viking

Fish Connoisseur
Reaction score
I have a planted 30 gallon tank that I add some ghost shrimp to. I am new to having shrimp. I have been doing my weekly water changes but would like to vacuum the gravel. Do the shrimp burrow into the gravel? The only other occupants are a few guppies with their tiny fry and a snail.

JxsPxxle

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I have a planted 30 gallon tank that I add some ghost shrimp to. I am new to having shrimp. I have been doing my weekly water changes but would like to vacuum the gravel. Do the shrimp burrow into the gravel? The only other occupants are a few guppies with their tiny fry and a snail.
I have kept lots of different types of shrimp and I have never seen them burrow, if you get near them with the vacuum they will most likely just zoom off in another direction. I vacuum my gravel with no issues.

seangee

Reaction score
I do vacuum into a bucket. Occasionally I do have to retrieve a shrimp or two out of the bucket.

essjay

Staff member
Global Moderator
Reaction score
I have cherry shrimps and it is common to find baby shrimps in the bucket.

OP
Retired Viking

Retired Viking

Fish Connoisseur
Reaction score
I have cherry shrimps and it is common to find baby shrimps in the bucket.
I plan on checking the waste water just in case, I already do that with my other tank just in case I catch a fry or something.

OP
Retired Viking

Retired Viking

Fish Connoisseur
Reaction score
I successfully vacuumed the shrimp tank, didn't find any shrimp in the bucket but it was interesting to see how the shrimp reacted. At one point I was slowly moving the vacuum and stopped when I noticed several shrimp watching the vacuum. They made a semi-circle around it starring at it. I had to wonder what they were thinking :)

seangee

Reaction score