Reaction score
Blogbkg2-1.png

A South American Endemic Rainforest Paludarium Build
inc. Dendrobates & Killifish
by
BigC​

TFF-welcome-1.png

dart3-1-1.png

(18/03/2010)...Spawned from an idea I have been harbouring for quite a few years now, I have decided I would like to try my hand at building and stocking a Paludarium, which would eventually become home to both Poisonous Dart-frogs (Dendrobatidae) & my beloved Killifish. Building a natural looking environment to accommodate both natural occurring land and aquatic species and all that entails would surely lead to a stunning visual display, once complete.
It is envisaged that I will use my original wood cabinet as a stand for the Paludarium and a new custom made glass tank would have to be constructed to remain within the constraints of its footprint. I'm planning on building a 625 x 312 x 610 (LWH) tank. complete with land and water segments.
I wish to keep this as natural as possible (modelled on a South American Rainforest biotope)
I hope to include some hard landscaping to include, tree roots, branches and exotic planting.
I will need to do a lot of research on this project surrounding the frogs themselves and also the flora, something that I'm sure I'll enjoy.
Please follow as I proceed with this venture, join in with your comments and suggestions as I make this journey into the semi unknown.

OriginalTank.jpg

Potential Paludarium...minus the new, taller tank

dart3-1-1.png

(19/03/2010)...After much consultation and dialogue with many frog enthusiasts, it seems that the most idiot proof PDF species (within reason) is the Yellow-banded Poison Frog (Dendrobates leucomelas)...see pic below

dend_leucomelas0003_lg.jpg