What's new
Pet of the Month Starts Now!
FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 Click here to enter! 🐰

Cameronb_01

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,
I have just purchased a 450 Litre tank and I was wondering if anyone could give me some suggestions as to what fish to get. I would like something very colourful, large and interesting and preferably reasonably easy to find. I have not yet decided whether it is going to be a freshwater or tropical tank but it definitely can't be marine. I am pretty new to fish keeping so please bear with me. If there is a good one plz send a pic.

Thanks a lot Cameron 

welcomeani.gif
to TFF Cameron! Hope you enjoy yourself here.

Some questions first..is your water soft or hard? What is your pH? You can usually check your water company's website for this information or give them a call.
Limescale build up in kettle or shower would also be an indication of hard water.

What are the dimensions of your tank? Length, width, and height please
smile.png
While the volume of water is helpful the dimensions are even moreso as some fish require different things, like angelfish need a taller tank.

Are there any specific colors or sizes you're looking for? What sort of substrate do you have, if any?

Also, before you pick up any fish..you'll want to cycle the tank by following THIS. It might sound complex at first but read it a few more times (don't skim!) and it should click. If you have any questions feel free to ask.
You'll want a liquid test kit (API is a popular brand for this) and some ammonia which you can find sources for HERE.

Hi! 
welcomeani.gif
to TFF!

Whats your waters pH, kH and gH? Also what are the dimensions?

I think by freshwater or tropical you mean tropical or coldwater? Coldwater fish are mostly goldfish.