total newbie in at the deep end!

manoverboard

Reaction score
apologies for the very long post with various questions... and sensitive fish lovers might want to skip this :sick:

Our new housemate brought a few fish with her, in a bucket.
Supposedly they were going to be picked up by a knowledgeable friend, who never showed up. There was also a fishtank, which was left on the back patio. She's basically disappeared leaving half her stuff and obviously doesn't give a flying one about the fish. There was some Stress Zyme which I figured I should add a little of occasionaly, and food flakes which I used sparingly (on the days I noticed, with a sinking feeling, that they were still there.) There were seven fish. One died after about a week or so - I noticed the stink in the kitchen. I eventually decided I couldn't tolerate it any more when I phoned the 'housemate' about rent etc and she didn't even mention the fish. I wanted to try and save them rather than let them die miserably or kill them. This was Monday (8th Dec). They were in the bucket at least a month.