• eh maybe

Votes: 2 11.1%
  • No

Votes: 1 5.6%

• Total voters

snork6

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
So while watching youtube I found a video  And it surprised me how many guppies were in that tank! so what do yall think is it over stocked?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fsKXpMz7A3o

I'm not very experienced with guppies, but they are pretty small fish and it seems like they have room to move around. Do they need places to hide though?

It's kind of hard to tell how big the tank is in the video, But if the 37 guppies were the only fish, I'd keep them in nothing smaller than a 90 gallon (340litre) tank, and that's not even giving room for the hundreds of babies you would have within a few months.

Jeremy180 said:
It's kind of hard to tell how big the tank is in the video, But if the 37 guppies were the only fish, I'd keep them in nothing smaller than a 90 gallon (340litre) tank, and that's not even giving room for the hundreds of babies you would have within a few months.

I have talked to the owner and the tank is 37 gallons he does not know how many guppies there is

Oh, the TANK is 37 gallons......
Most likely too many then, 20 guppies (10 male, 10 female) alone would need about 180 litres (48 US gallons) for bioload, and that looks to be a good deal more than twenty guppies, plus we still have the aforementioned problem of what to do with the babies

Simple solution: get him a pair of firemouth cichlids
biggrin.png

only kidding, before I get jumped on
wink.png

I did exactly that in my Mollie and Platy tank.

Here's one too...

https://youtu.be/1y7USJCClto

These guys do a nice job with their tanks on youtube, but this one looks a little busy hehe.