Thinking about getting into fishkeeping. Would like estimates of the likely costs.

fastzander

Reaction score
Hey, folks. Noob here. I'm considering getting into aquaculture/fishkeeping as a hobby, and have started out by reading a few books, subscribing to a few forums, YouTube channels, etc., but before I spend time and money conducting more in-depth research, one of the first things I want to ascertain is the likely monetary expenses and time commitment involved, so that if they're out of my range, I can veto the prospect at the start.
The space (and it's the only viable space I've got) where I'd place the tank is 101 centimetres in width and 43 centimetres deep. Assume I get a tank of those dimensions plus 40 centimetres in height, and thus 45.8 gallons (at least, according to this: https://www.firsttankguide.net/calculator.php). Three questions:
  • What would be the price range to purchase all the initial equipment for a tank of this size (i.e... a tank itself, a cabinet, lighting, a sump, a heater, a protein skimmer, a return pump, live rock, substrate, the stock itself, etc.)? Assume decent quality equipment. I'd rather do this correctly or not at all.
  • What would be the annual price range to purchase all the ongoing supplies for a tank of this size (i.e... food, water testing kits, calcium, etc.)?
  • What would be the weekly time commitment range to maintain a tank of this size?
Any estimates re. these matters are appreciated. If this is not the correct venue to ask such questions, could anyone here redirect me elsewhere?

Off the peg tanks come in set sizes, though I don't know what those would be in Australia. There are companies which build tanks to a customer's specification but they are usually more expensive.

Freshwater or salt water? Your list of requirements sounds like salt water as freshwater tanks don't use protein skimmers or live rock.