Tetratec 1200 Making Noises

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

mylittlepiranha

Reaction score
Hi everyone

Brand new newbie here :blink:

My tetratec 1200 which has been going for a while has started to make quite a loud vibrating/humming noise - only since I took it apart to clean, and also cleaned the gunk out of the impeller, put it back together properly & it looks in perfect condition. It was fine before that :unsure:

I've re-taken the whole thing apart & put it all back together several times, and turned on & turned off the power a zillion times (as recommended in the manual) but still just as noisy. As well as bugging me, I'm worried it will cause extra vibration that will stress the fish (it's in the cabinet under the tank - Juwel 260 with dedicated unit).

I've had it about a year, when I got it second hand along with the complete tank setup, so don't have a warranty :unsure:

I've just followed the remote diagnostics on Tetra's website and that says I need a new motor unit. They want 100 Euros for that (although I can get a complete new filter on ebay for GBP80!). Either way though, it's a lot of money :angry: so I'm hoping someone will have some other suggestion that will be cheaper - even if it's only "live with the noise, it won't bother the fish" LOL

I'm certainly no expert in fishy stuff (most of what I know I've got from books) so any advice gratefully received :rolleyes:

Thanks
Jen

If it's making loads of noise the chances are something may go dramatically wrong with it pretty soon.

If you phone this number (UK), 08700554031 (normal office hours), should get you through to rupert bridges, tell him your filter is playing up and ask for the service centre number in germany. Phone up the service centre, and they may replace the part without charge.