Tester Kit Resulta

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

papalzru

Reaction score
Hi, I`m new and have joined because I`m a bit worried about my topical fish tank.

My tank is a Cayman 80 PR and is 150ltrs.

I have around 25-30 fish.

I do regular water changes and as a noob I do my best to keep it running good. when it comes to the science I am completely baffled by it and reading through some of the threads on here my head is now ready to explode, I really am that confused by it all.

My tank is rather cloudy and I`m trying to find out why. I have bought a strip tester kit. Could someone explain my results to me and whether they are good or bad? Also tips on how to remove the cloudyness would be great.

heres my results

PH: 6.4
KH mg/l : 50
GH mg/l : 250
N03 : 500
N02: 0.5

NH3/NH4+ : 0

thankyou for any help and advice

your nitrates (no3)are high and s your nitrites (no2) are a little high as well, what type of filter do you have? how long has the tank been set up, what colour is the cloudyness

I have a fluval 3plus, but it was second hand when I bought it, so I`m wondering whether I should replace it. The tank has been set up for about 4 months.

Its hard to describe, its a sort of yellowy foggy colour.

thanks alot for your reply, I really appreciate it.

On the face of it, Mike is about right on the results, but you said that these are the strip tests. These are notoriously inaccurate, and I would be hugely surprised if you'd built up 500mg/l of nitrate in 4 months, even if you'd never changed any water whatsoever.

It'd be a good idea to buy a set of liquid test kits. I use Salifert, and have previously used Nutrafin. Others swear by the API, although both the ammonia and nitrate tests in the API can be a bit temperamental.