Tank "Siesta"

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Dave_31

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Has anyone heard of this idea before?

The action plan is to have a period within the day where your tank lights go off for a few hours (2 - 4)... so for eg:

My lights where on 9am till 9pm ... they are now on 8am till 1pm then a "siesta" from 1pm till 3pm then lights on again from 3pm till 10pm

Keeping the same amount of light that was in the tank before but with a gap.

The theroy behind it is that the algae cant adapt like the plants do, therefore the algae stops growing

Ill keeps you guys updated on how it pans out

Dave

That idea is on an algae fact sheet at one of my lfs, apparently the guy that writes thier fact sheets writes for practical fishkeeping too. Not tried that idea though.

Jon

LOL, what if some of the algae is mutated and it has evolved the ability to adapt like plants? :lol:

I've never tried that method before, but people have had success with it.

Algae isn't an issue in the last tank that I set up. I started off cycling with plants, and then I added the fish later. It's been running for over 6 months without an algae introduction. ::does a little dance::

-Update-

3 days after starting the siesta treatment and no visible signs of improvment,
algae is still present (What the otto's arnt eatting)
and some new algae has grown

Does anyone know how long it takes before the effects are present? it didnt say in the dennerel book where i got the idea from... :X

I too, have heard of people having success with this approach. There have been numerous threads about it in the past. If it will work and how long it will take if it does depends on how far out of balance your system is. I certainly wouldn't have expected to see anything after such a short time.