Strange Snail Behavior (new tank additions)...

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

mlolm

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

Beginner here, this is my first planted tank. It is a bit small (10L). I bought a new tank, a much bigger one that I will setup in the next few weeks (fluval edge 2). But in the meantime I wanted to get some cool snails since algae in my small tank is still an issue. I bought two small snails. I found out their breed here: https://www.aqualog.de/en/lexikon/cipangopaludina-leucythoides-2/

I did the normal water adjustment and added them about two weeks ago. At first one was fairly active, the other was a bit more shy. After a day they both were moving about feeding on the algae in my tank. By the third day I noticed they would fall over on their backs alot. Then i'd wait to see if they could right themselves on their own. They did, at one point one of them was almost completely out of his shell to right himself. I was worried maybe they would get stuck on their backs, one stopped moving completely and you could see he was slightly out of his shell by a milimeter. I righted him because he didnt move for a whole 24 hours. Now both have been sitting in the same positoin, without moving at all for about 3 days. They are not feeding, or moving, at all, day or night. I'm not sure if they are even alive at this point.

Yesterday I decided to check if they were still alive, so I did the smell test (read online). They didnt stink. I put them on my little driftwood log and they started munching on it a little bit (alive, yay). Then they fell off again and went back to being weird and dormant. One of them is hanging out of his shell.

I thought they didnt like my water or temp. Water temp is: 25 Celcius. (with heater on)