Sponge Filters

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Narideth

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've only recently gotten into sponge filters and I'm still learning about them. I have them in a 2, 3 and 10 gallon tank, and I've been going through and cleaning them all out, but for some reason... the 3 gallon's sponge was almost pristinely clean. These have been working for a while now, water flow is good and everyone is healthy in all of the tanks, and in both the 2 and 10, the sponges were full of the normal brown mulm you would expect. Only the 3 gallon sponge was totally clean despite carrying a similar bioload to the 2 gallon.

Both the 3 and the 10 are heavily planted, but the bioload in the 10 is much greater than the 3 gallon since it's a breeding tank for shrimp and ramshorns. Are the plants in the 3 gallon somehow keeping the water that clean? I just do normal 10% water changes, nothing extra super for any of these tanks.

Should I be worried that this filter isn't functioning properly? It -looks- like it's drawing water in, but it's harder to tell with these small sponges since the draw is gentle and the water is clear, so I can't watch to see something get sucked in. I've reseated the sponge -maybe it got pushed up and water wasn't running through it- and I'll check back again later, but the tank is healthy otherwise so, not sure how concerned I should be.

Every aquarium is biologically different even when most of the factors are the same (same water and water changes, comparable fish load and feeding, plants, light, etc). If the water is clear the sponge filter is probably fine, though of course this may not always be the case either due to this or that.

I guess as long as there is water bubbling up from the sponge filter, then it should be fine.