Sick betta...I think! Please advise

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Cassiee303

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the aquatic world of fish, and I have recently purchased a very sick betta that I am trying my best to help.

When i first purchased him(nearly two months ago), he was In poor health and bad living conditions. He had no color in his body or fins from what Iā€™m assuming was stress (also not ideal water temperatures for a betta). He is now in a 2 gallon tank(waiting to put him in a 5 gal when he recovers) that is heated, and I do water changes weekly.

since then, he is now vibrant in color, but there is a white spot on his body that looks like fungus, but I cannot be sure. Itā€™s been resistant to melafix, and I am currently treating him with Maracyn oxy on the recommendation of the pet store. It has been present on him since I bought him. To be honest, Iā€™m not sure if it is a true fungal infection, or just signs of old age (the store said they didnā€™t know how long he had been there, but after doing some research, I seem to think heā€™s an old grump of a betta). His behavior is normal and he is quite active. He eats and plays and builds bubble nests, I just worry that Whatever is on his body is causing him pain. I would also like to introduce him into a larger tank with other fish compatible to male bettas, but cannot do so until I have this under control. Also, Iā€™ve grown quite attached to him and so I would hate to see him die just because I didnā€™t know enough about whatā€™s wrong to help him :(

If anyone has any insights or suggestions, I would greatly appreciate it, as the pet store is of little help.
B35E25FF-2C01-4B1E-A771-E4BF6C7C8E8B.jpeg

Attachments

• 91B20FC4-FA07-45B2-837D-D0A403A7147A.jpeg
    91B20FC4-FA07-45B2-837D-D0A403A7147A.jpeg
    199.2 KB · Views: 182
  • 8BE8850C-0705-49FA-9242-5923F8BF8982.jpeg
    8BE8850C-0705-49FA-9242-5923F8BF8982.jpeg