Shrimp Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

benthyer

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
So, I have never done a Journal on here before and thought that now would be the ideal opportunity as I am planning on setting up a tank with Shrimp and some small fish.

At the moment I have a rather rough Acrylic Tank which I picked up for free, it's 46L and measure 35x30x44.

Here is a poor picture of it

Photo 28-08-2015 23 06 36.jpg

I have set this tank up but the intentions of using getting the plants and some small fish but when I was at my LFS yesterday I spotted a 40cm Cube tank with a lid for £25 so think I am going to get that instead. It looks a lot smarter and is slightly larger as well. Here's a picture of it

Photo 28-08-2015 14 37 41.jpg

Although it has a lot of equipment in it I am only going to be getting the bare tank.

So here are my plans so far for which ever tank I end up with.

Plants and Wood

I have been offered the following bundle of plants for £30 which should be everything I need

1 Red Tiger Lotus
1 Anubias Nana
1 Anubias Lanceolata
1 Peacock Moss on a Cinnamon Tunnel
1 Bunch of Cabomba
2 Shrimp Tunnels
1 Red Moor Wood
4 Moss Balls (might substitue these out for some moss as I already have some in my other tank)

All of this will be in a Sand substrate. As of yet I am undecided on whether to does with CO2 from the small disposable canisters you get or just add liquid nutrients, perhaps even liquid CO2.

Lighting

For my lighting I plan on using a Desk Lamp with a CFL Bulb in it. I have spent a lot of time researching different options and this seems like the easiest and cheapest option which will do just fine.

The bulb will be 30W which is equivalent to 100W on a normal bulb, it will be 6500k and give out about 1500 lumens.

Filtration