Saltwater aquarium startup fish on day 1

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Aquaton

Reaction score
I have a guy here claiming he can start his saltwater aquarium from day one and that I should do it too. His method is: Put in bacteria starter and fish in, on day one. I think this sounds very wrong, what do you guys think? He is also claiming to be using ICP tests.

I'm not an expert on marine tanks, but that does sound wrong.
The trouble is that many bacterial starters tell you to add fish immediately. For example, API Quick Start for marine aquariums says "enables you to start your aquarium immediately, allowing for the instant addition of fish as it kick-starts the natural aquarium cycle." As with fresh water Quick Start, I doubt it works instantly but many new fishkeepers will believe what they write.

I have a guy here claiming he can start his saltwater aquarium from day one and that I should do it too. His method is: Put in bacteria starter and fish in, on day one. I think this sounds very wrong, what do you guys think? He is also claiming to be using ICP tests.
When I started up my saltwater tank I used a quick start liquid (don’t remember the exact brand) but I waited a week before adding fish. I did this to monitor levels and make sure it wasn’t a fake cycle.

Hello. By adding a few, small fish in the beginning, you have to commit to removing and replacing the water every few days to stay ahead of the toxins produced by the fish waste, because there is no bacteria colony to do that job. If you can remove the toxins well before there's time for them to build up, then I could definitely see how this approach to tank cycling could work. I mean, I do the same thing to start up my fresh water tanks.

10 Tanks (Now 11)