Rummy nose aren’t well

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Aquajournalny

Reaction score
I bought 19 rummy nose tetras the about five days ago. I’m relatively new to the hobby so I’ve only recently been introduced to the idea of quarantining fish. I quarantined them for three days, treating them with metroplex to hopefully handle any illness or ailments they could’ve had. After moving them to my 75 gallon community, I’m left with 8 rummy nose and now 3 of my neon tetras have passed as well. I’m treating the entire tank now with metroplex just in case. I’m really upset and bummed out, anyone have any ideas as to what could be going on, what I could’ve done, or what I could do now? Thanks so much.

Sounds familiar. I added fish to my mint tank n lots of fish died which was devastating. I treated with salt, marine salt, which I got told was bad for my fish, so I bought the correct salt and added that. Then I found out that salt is bad for neons n corys which wasn't ever mentioned here. So in my attempt to treat a problem , I may have been killing them. Now after a massive water change I will let nature take its course.
My advise is,,, regular water changes, 50% every 2 days and cut down on food. Best of luck. All is well now so I think Iv sorted the problem.

Any chance of a picture of the fish?
What symptoms are the fish showing?
What is the ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH of the tank water?

------------------
How long were the fish in the shop tanks for?
Rummynose are sensitive to changes in water chemistry and suffer a lot of stress during transport and shipping. If the fish had only been at the shop for a couple of days when you got them, they would have been stressed from the move to the shop. Then they suffered more stress being caught, bagged up and moved to your house. Then more stress from the anti-biotics. And finally more stress being moved 3 days later.