Random parasites or fungus....

Jor124dan

Reaction score
Hello I am new to this feed and need a little help. I have been keeping fish for quite some time about 13 ish years. I currently have a 40 gal tank with a aqua clear 70 hob filter. I have been struggling latly on keeping fish due to some fungus or parasite in my tank. I have been thinking its been ich the last few times. Been treating for ich now for about 3 days. I had 10 tiger barbs when i started when I only saw one small white dot. Now by the 3rd day I have lost 5 fish and soon to be more. Fish are just cover in these white dots that have a little white **** now forming. Tank is at 80°f would just like some input on why this is spreading like wild fire and now killed many many fish on me in the last year due to the same issue. Fish in the picture attached are the best pictures I could get. Fish have been purchased 1 mouth ago. Any help on what this is and what to do would help alot, thanks

Attachments

• 20201019_192709.jpg
    20201019_192709.jpg
    283.3 KB · Views: 54
  • 20201019_192815.jpg
    20201019_192815.jpg
    272.1 KB · Views: 97
  • 20201019_192935.jpg
    20201019_192935.jpg
    139.1 KB · Views: 64
  • 20201019_193253.jpg
    20201019_193253.jpg
    176.9 KB · Views: 86
  • 20201019_193442.jpg
    20201019_193442.jpg
    305.9 KB · Views: 52
Raise the temp to 86 to 89 degrees and do daily 50% or more water changes, remember to treat the new water with conditioner. Do this for 2 weeks. You can add marine salt about 2 tablespoons per 5 gallons, this should be added slowly to the tank by dissolving it in water and adding that water to the tank, do this over a few days not all at once. @Colin_T can correct me if I am wrong, it has been a few years since I had to deal with ich.

Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum :)