Pregnant Platies

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

JesseJ

Reaction score
Hey guys,
I believe two of my plates are pregnant. Both are female. I have 4 females and one male. And yeah I was expecting this to happen so luckily I had 50L second tank on hand.
I have put them in a tank together. They aren't social with each other they both seem to keep to themselves which is new as they useually hang around each other and the other platies 24/7.
They both hover in one spot at the bottom of the tank. And hide when ever they can. I have a few live plants in there incase a fry come unexpected and need some cover from the females
Unfortiently I dont have a second filter so I'm just going to do 50% water changes daily (Not Ideal I know, But don't trust it in my community tank) I'm quite new to the hobby as ive only had my fish for 2 weeks.
I already had one platy that came pregnant from the online store I bought them from and gave birth to 25 fry. But they died as I didn't have another tank on hand at the time :( 

One of them looks like shes about to pop though I cant see the spot on either of them (Maybe my eye's are bad idk)
I was just wondering if this behaviour indicates that they will give birth soon?

My first platy gave birth in a community tank. But I moved both of these out as the male was harrasing them and I didn't want a miss carrage.
They both aren't eating. Though have been yesterday and before that.
I have no gravel or sand in their tank so I can easily see if there are any babies around.
I don't like breeder boxes because my fish seemed stressed enough as it is.

I'm mainly just posting this to see if I have done the right thing and to get a rough idea of when I can expect fry.
I can get some pictures tomorrow (Don't know how good they will be but it could help)

JesseJ