Reaction score
Okay i currently have

4 mollys (female)
3 platys (female)
3 guppies (male)
1 swordtail (male)
4 cherry barbs
4 neons

I also have a gibbiceps plec that i'am taking to pets at home today as i didnt know they would grow so big, and my local lfs told me it was a cory (Doh! being a newbie i didnt know the difference). Anyways i've been waiting for him to get better as he lost a little of his colour recently, but he's great now,

My question is i'm going to replace him with some bronze corys and i wondered how many i could get for my 27.5uk gal tank, i was thinking 3 but i didnt know if they would be happy like this? (the lfs said they only had bronze, albino and peppered so i'm assuming that i've chosen the smallest)

Please help, as i need to get catching that plec asap as he is very evasive

Bronze and peppered are both quite big for cories I think...around 3". (Albino are the same species as bronze jsut a different colour). From what I've read, the bigger the school the better, but I had two by themselves for ages...

how big is the plec now?

I have 8 peppered, 2 bronze and 2 albino and they all get on well.

As you have no other bottom feeders, I recokn you could have 4 and even if you wanted have 2 albino and 2 bronze because they are the same kind anyways.

Rehoming the plec is a good idea, I'm not sure I would have taken him to Pets At Home though, they don't know their arse from their elbow!!

Well i thought this, but i was pleasantly suprised today (Pets at Home, Brislington, Bristol), they had completely revamped the entire area with bigger tanks lovely decorations clean looking with lots of healthy fish,