Nitrate levels are too high, even after a water change

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

jijifish

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to fish keeping and i'm looking after my parents fish for a few months..
Recently one of the goldfish died, it had a black spot on it? Could this be the black spot disease or from bad water quality?

I tested the water parameters and the results were
Ammonia: 0.25ppm
Nitrite: 1.0ppm
Nitrate: 160ppm.

Is it possible that the fish died because of the high levels of nitrate? Previously, I did a water change and 5 days later, the fish died. The rest of the fish are okay.

I did a 30% percent water change yesterday after seeing the results. I tested again this morning and the ammonia, nitrite have gone to 0. But the nitrate is still 160ppm. What should I do?
I cleaned the sponge pump filter on Sunday 25th June, when can I clean the canister filter? I believe that what is called, it says fluval underwater filter U3 on the box. I think it is clogged so that might be the reason why the nitrates are so high? The last time, the canister filter was cleaned on the 18th May. If I clean both within the same week, would I lose all beneficial bacteria?

Will daily water changes bring down the nitrate level? how much? 25% or 30%?

The fish tank is 31 gallons, it is an overcrowded fish tank with 7 fish but I can't do anything about that since these aren't my fish.

Sorry for so many questions, I'm completely clueless about everything and I can't reach my parents at the moment.

Any lead or any possible solutions will be very helpful! Thank you 😊

Hi welcome to the forum :)

Has this tank been set up for long? If you've inherited it from your parents I'd guess so, so it should be a mature filter? When you cleaned it did you clean it with tap water or water from the tank?