Newbie looking for canister filter recommendations

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

hazyvonne

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm pretty new to this hobby. I have a 55g, planted tank (see picture) that's about 4 months old. When I first got started all the info out there was rather overwhelming so I decided to go with a HOB filter to make things easy. I currently have a Penn Plax Cascade 300 running. As far as I can tell, it does what it's supposed to do, my water is clear and my parameters are fine. But while the filter was whisper quiet in the beginning it has increased in noise level ever since. Also, the flow is not quite what it used to be - I have to turn it up all the way to get the same flow I used to get on half that. I am now taking this thing apart and cleaning it every few days which seems to quiet it for a little while before it gets worse again. To be honest, I'm tired of it. I have attached a pre-filter sponge because I thought that might help, but it did not. So I was thinking about getting a new filter - but if I'm gonna get a new filter I thought I might as well upgrade to a canister filter.

Does anyone have a recommendation for a good canister filter? Something quiet? Also, do I need a spray bar? Is a UV filter necessary?

Thank you!

Oh, in case that's important: Currently, I have 6 Celestial Pearl Danios and about 10 fry in there, along with 6 assassin snails and lord knows how many bladder snails who hitchhiked their way into the tank. In my quarantine tank, I have 6 Red Neon Rainbowfish, 6 Spotted Blue Eye Rainbowfish, 4 clown killifish, 3 amano shrimp and 3 blue dream shrimp - they'll join the CPDs in the main tank in a few weeks. So basically I'm planning on having a big nano fish tank :)

Attachments

• fulltank.jpeg
    fulltank.jpeg
    300.3 KB · Views: 59