New To The Hobby And Have Some Questions.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Ciddire

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Greetings all!

I have no prior fish experience and was assured by the fish expert everything would be okay...however I decided to look on the internet (and stumbled on this forum) I think I might have made a horrible mistake. I wish I would of been informed about the much safer fishless cycle at the store!

3 days ago I went to my local PetCo and purchased the following items: 

1 x 29 Gallon Glass Fishtank
1 x 29 in 'Deluxe' hood
1 x stand
1 x Marineland Penguin 200b
1 x heater rated for up to 40 gallons 
1 x API Quickstart
1 x API Tap Water Conditioner
1 x Dwarf Gourami
1 x Pearl Gourami
1 x Red Gourami 
1 x Sword Plant
3 x various decor

The PetCo person assured me that the fish would be okay as long as I purchased the Quickstart and monitored the water.

I set up the tank, got the water to temperature and added the fish per the advice of the associate.

I later ran to a 24/hr department store because I realized (after reading this forum) that there's a number of things I'm still missing and purchased the following items:

1 x bubble stone
1 x quiet air pump rated for up to 40 Gallon
1 x Water testing kit (strips)
1 x Ammonia testing kit

I have been testing the water every 12 hrs and everything has been in the good or ideal range according to the test bottles.

However, yesterday the water started to get slightly clouded. I went up to PetCo with my pictures and water sample and was told this was normal for the start of the cycle. I would like your guys opinions and advice on making sure this process is as smooth and safe on the fish as possible. 

This morning I did a 25% water replacement adding the proper amounts of water treatment products (according to the packages) and made sure to get the temperature as close as possible to the water's temp.