New To The Hobby, 20 Gallon Long Stocking Ideas?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

JPB2012

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am very new to this hobby, and I'm going to get a 20 gallon long soon, and I need stocking ideas. 2 fish that I would like to keep are a dwarf gourami, and neon tetras. What are some other fish that will get along with them and not overload my filter (I plan on over filtrating).
Thanks!

Hi JPB, in order to help, the guys on this forum need your water parameters :)
This is the hardness (GH and KH) and pH.

You want to make sure your tank is cycled properly. There is a really good guide on the tank cycling part of this forum, and as you dont have any fish yet id highly recommend reading it and performing a fishless cycle :)

Id then spend the 4-6 weeks that youre cycling doing your research online and then suggesting multiple ideas and have people tell you if its ok or not.

A good guide to quantity is 1 inch of adult length fish per US gallon of water in the tank. But with this bear in mind that a 4inch plec will produce way more waste than 2 2inch cory cats. This is a rough guide.

I currently have 8 cherry barbs in my 16g tank. Very pretty fish that are hardy and relatively cheap :) these need to be kept in a shoal of atleast 6.

Corydoras are also very popular fish to have on the bottom levels of your tank. They need to be in a group of 5 or 6 plus really, but they are great.

The guys on here will be able to help greatly but we really need to know your parameters as not all fish will survive in all water types. Your local fish store (LFS) should be able to test your water for you - often for free, however its recommended you get the API master testkit for fresh water. Its easy to use, accurate and will last you a very very long time.