New To Malawi - My Setup And Stock

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

manxjason

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi guys, first post here

I'm new to cichlids but not fishkeeping. My previous 230ltr sprung a leak last Friday, the day after I managed to sell my previous stock. My setup will be as follows:

Filtration: Eheim pro3 2073 w/spraybar (mature – will mini-cycle to 5ppm with ammonia) & Juwel Bioflow 1000.

Heating: Fluval digital 300w and Juwel 300w

Lighting: 4x54w – Day and Nature / LED Moonlight system

Testing: API Freshwater master test kit / API GH & KH test kit

Water conditioners: Usual de-chlorinator / Epsom Salts / Bicarbonate Soda (both from Boots)

Substrate: Natural Pea Gravel / Crushed coral sand (filter)
Rock: Manx stone (big slate) & Limestone

Just need some help with stocking really. Would like to go for Mbuna.

Here's a video on youtube I seen - could I do something similar to this, with a few less fish though, but no idea on numbers.

20 Demasoni
6 Red Top Galilea
6 Cyn. White Top Hara
5 Red Zebra
6 Yellow Labs
2 Met. Zebra OB
1 Mel. Johannii
5 Hajomylandi
7 Petricola

Obtained this stocking list from this youtube video - tank looks brilliant.

thank

So your tank is 230L? Or have you bought a new setup? What are the dimensions of the tank?

Sorry there, typo! It's a 450litre - 5ft - 1194 foot print.

Thanks