New Guppy Suddenly Died - Stress Or Shock?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

rhian

Reaction score
Hello

one of my pretty guppies died today, they were all swimming around happily this morning :sad:
then I just looked this afternoon, and he was on the floor of the tank dead! it could only have been an hour since I looked.

I only got them yesterday, I am quite new to fishkeeping. I have 3 platys, 4 lemon tetras & now 5 little guppies in my 90L planted tank. Are guppies quite sensitive like that and die suddenly? or should I be concerned about the other fish? my largest platy is a bit territorial I suppose something could have happened.

I hope the others will be ok! how sad

It sounds as though the guppy had something wrong with it when you bought it. Did you acclimatise the new fish before you added them to the tank?

Thanks for your reply. I floated the bag for about 30mins, then let some water in gradually to acclimatise, it took about an hour. The tank lights were off. I think that is what I should do?

his tummy was a bit rounder than the others - all the fish are scavenging in the tank, I wondered if he had eaten something or maybe got bullied by the big platy :unsure:

I'll wait for a bit to see how the others are doing before getting another :-(

I've found guppys to be quite delicate. I had a 50% loss over 2 days when I introduced some into my tank.

What other fish have you got in there?

If you are new to fishkeeping do you know about cycling a tank? Is yout tank cycled? Did you cycle it for the 6-8 weeks required for the beneficial bacteria to grow? If not all your fish will die - do a 50% water change right away and read up quickly on this article on cycling a tank with fish in

cycling a tank

If I had a £1 for every time ive posted this link i'd be a rich woman! It saddens me that so many fish have to suffer and die through ignorance. :(