Nerite snail babies in freshwater tank??

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Kelly Preussner

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi, I am fairly new to aquarium life. I have had a tank for almost 2 years. Itā€™s a 36 gallon freshwater tank. I have livebearers & tiger barbs (they live peacefully together). I have also had nerite snails for almost the entire time. The past 2 times I cleaned the tank I noticed what looked like a very tiny snail. The first time it was on the glass but then I emptied my bucket of water & when I went back it was gone. Probably fell to the gravel. Today when I cleaned something went through my vacuum & when I took it out of the bucket it looked like a very tiny snail. I mean pin head size. So I put it back in the tank. Could this be a baby snail? I thought they didnā€™t reproduce in freshwater, only saltwater???
so you may ask if I am sure I have nerite snails & the answer is yes. I do know my snails. There was a time 2 were ā€œstuckā€ together for a while but I occasionally see them crawl over each other. They spend most of their time on my driftwood but also the glass. I have read if they do reproduce they are almost impossible to keep alive.
Any tips, recommendations, anything would be very helpful.
I am sure you would like a picture. I will see if I can find another baby. Thanks in advance!

Yes! I did get a few new plants! That makes more sense. Will they get bigger & I can get rid of them?
Yes, they will get bigger and will probably overpopulate. Get rid of them manyally or put a leaf of lettuce in, they will be on it in the morning, throw them away. Best get rid of them while there are only a few.

If you don't overfeed and/or overstock they might not proliferate too much. Think of them as a free gift.