My 55G Bow Front - Seeking Feedback

Rak9378

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi
First time poster here. I am new to the hobby and reading these forums was so helpful as I did my research!!! Anyhow my tank has been up and running for a few months now and so far I'm pretty happy with it. I am trying to go for a natural look with all live plants. It is still a work in progress so I would love to get some constructive criticism from anyone willing to give it. I would especially love to get any suggestions for plant types to help fill out the foreground. I'm posting three pics (hopefully I post them correctly!!) :) One is a straight shot of the tank and the other two are angled shots which should give a better view of the sides since it is a bow front. Thanks for looking!

Beautiful, puts my tank to shame :-( Haha.
How do the barbs and gourami get on?

Lovely looking tank!  Really like the combination of rocks, wood and plants you've got going on there.

My only criticism would be that the different coloured rocks don't work together - you've got one red, one grey and one white.  If you want the natural look then just choose one type of rock and stick with it.  Personally my favourite is the big grey rock at the back (it looks like it might be lava rock?).  It's begging to be covered in anubias I think :)

@CrimsonBoli
Thanks for the compliment.  Much appreciated.  Stocking is as follows:

2 x Gold Gouramis
8 x Tiger Barbs (5 regular & 3 green)
5 x Rosy Barbs
5 x Bentos Tetra (my LFS calls them Candy Cane Tetras and I have also seen them called White Tip Tetra)
2 x Emerald Green Cory Cats
1 x BN Pleco
7 x Nerite Snails

I realize I'm a bit overstocked but none of the fish are full size yet and I am really diligent about my water changes.  Plus, eventually I will have a built in excuse for that bigger tank!! 
smile.png

@Ninjouzata