Moving Old Tank To New Tank?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

fishman/ashley

Reaction score
hi everyone i'm new i'm ash!

i am new to all this so be nice! lol

i have just got a new bigger tank 175 litter 4 foot long reason being i was miss advised from were i got them from and my tank is over crowded...

how can i move my fish over to my new tank a sap thanks!

oh i have 3 silver sharks............ 3 guppys male......... 3 platys..... one neon tetra......... two penguin tetras ......... a plecks thankyou

more info needed...

what filter do you have in the old tank?

what filter comes with the new tank?

Is the new tank running and passed through the cycling process? If it has then just net the fish into bag and acclimatise them as you would when buying new fish. If it hasn't then you'll have to cycle it before the fish can be moved safely.

Also, gradually stock the tank, don't put all of them in at once. I suggest moving the Silver Sharks and plec first as they will be the ones most affected by being in a tank that is too small. The others don't need as much space. Gradually move the others in after that.

Good Luck,
AmazonFTW

P.S I suggest you bulk out the neon tetra shoal a bit, and the penguin tetra shoal.

Oh and I'm not sure about this but the sharks may eat the tetras when they get fully grown so I suggest you research this before putting them together and adding more tetras.

more info needed...

what filter do you have in the old tank?

what filter comes with the new tank?
hi thankyou old one is interpet pf2 new one is fluval 205

Is the new tank running and passed through the cycling process? If it has then just net the fish into bag and acclimatise them as you would when buying new fish. If it hasn't then you'll have to cycle it before the fish can be moved safely.