Molly is sick . I'm clueless.

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Madtat211

Reaction score
Ok, I am kind of new to this . A few months ago we bought 3 Molly , 2 of which were pregnant . When we got them home and in the tank we noticed a spot on one of the pregnant ones and thought it may be ich . We treated the entire tank along with the others. It didn't get better. We did the 20% water changes daily that the instructions called for for a week and treated the tank again . During this time one of the pregnant ones ( not sick) gave birth and the whole fry was stillborn. We were concerned that it was from the treatments so we stopped all but the daily water changes. The Ill Molly then gave birth and her babies ( most of them) were fine . We seperated the babies but not her. Now it has been almost 3 months since we got her and no other fish caught it , not even her fry . She stopped eating suddenly and got stuck to the side of the filter so we took her out and put her in a hospital tank alone thinking she was about to pass or that one more brush with the filter would kill her. We treated her alone again .It's been a week and she's still hanging on and started eating a little again. If she wants to fight, I want to help her any ideas? Sorry for the poor pic quality it was taken last week in the hospital tank during ich treatment. The spot looks the same now .

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    308.3 KB · Views: 198
That is certainly not ich, but I am not sure what it may be, though fungus or an ulcer suggest themselves from the photo. For the future, it is better not to treat for disease unless you know exactly what the disease is. Any medications or substances added to the water will naturally get inside the fish, and these cause further stress, so only those absolutely essential should be used. Diagnosing fish ailments is not at all easy much of the time.