Marks On Platy And Betta

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

xamy_valox

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hi there, I am new to keeping tropical fish and have had mine for roughly a month now.
I don't know if this is actually an emergency as both fish are behaving normally.
However, yesterday I noticed that my betta and platy both have marks, they are both different, but Im not sure if there is something wrong with them?
My platy has what looks like a blister type mark near its rear that is only noticeable in some lights. Since my other platy died I have noticed that this platy has been being chased by my guppies and they kind of nudge him? So I don't know if this mark has occured because of them doing this?
Here is a picture anyway..I'm sorry the quality isn't brilliant but it's the best I could do.

http://s829.photobucket.com/albums/zz214/xamy_valox/Fish/?action=view&current=SDC11444_2.jpg

My betta on the other hand has a much, much smaller mark and in actual fact is not very noticeable, but I noticed it was different and was a bit concerned..

http://s829.photobucket.com/albums/zz214/xamy_valox/Fish/?action=view&current=SDC11436_2.jpg

This is him normally, his fins are a little raggy. I got him from a friend and I think he may have caught himself on stuff that was in his previous tank, but I just wanted to make sure he looks ok in general?

http://s829.photobucket.com/albums/zz214/xamy_valox/Fish/?action=view&current=SDC11434.jpg

I've checked the internet for the symptoms of white spot and looks a pictures and it doesnt seem to match with either of them, so I'm a bit confused as to what it may be?
Any help is appreciated.
Thanks, and I'm sorry if the pics dont work.
Amy.

Size of tank in gallons or litres.
How many fish and which type.
Water stats in ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, and ph.

Issolate the sick fish,

as fish will pick of sick fish.

Try a bacterial med.
Do any of the fish look skinny or bloated.