Male Tank!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

The young one

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hi, I have recently started my aquastart 500 and I am going for a low tech planted tank.

I have tetracomplete plant substrate and Roman black gravel on top, I have 2 11w lights which gives me about 1.5wpg.

Plants:
Limnophilia aquatica
Corkscrew vallis
Java moss
Java fern

Fish:
6 Cherry shrimp
2 Khuli loaches

Fish to be added:
5 Female siamese fighter fish
3 Octinocolus (don't know spelling)

This is my first attempt at a planted tank and would be very grateful for suggestions and criticsm.

Thanks in advance
Joe

Pictures:
CIMG0629.jpg

CIMG0630.jpg

CIMG0631.jpg

CIMG0632.jpg

CIMG0633.jpg

my male loves his coconut cave and one of my females dose but the other 3 girls dont go i them.

be careful with the ottos hun - as they get older can start to suck onto fish (just keep an eye on them as they age) - mine did so have been moved to another tank :)
I would increase the khulis to at least 4 - 6 is better - they love being in slightly larger groups

and if you decide against the ottos - 2 pitbull plecs - very small plecs and clean algae really well - need at least 2 as dont like to be kept alone

The tank itself is brilliant hun perfect for a sorority - my females love the coconut caves especially the whole ones with just one open (other open end buried in the sand)

maybe add some frogbit or something in time - my females love to sit amoung it

Thanks for the ideas pippoodle, I think I'm gunna ditch the otos as they are quite expensive around here and I heard that they die quite easily.

I will definately be getting some more khulis as I LOVE them.

Thanks
Joe

Thanks, it's a shame the betta club has been closed aswell as the other clubs.

I know you from a different forum aswell.

Ok, I've now changed this into a male tank, got him today from a very good shop, The Goldfish Bowl in Oxford.