Making A Total Noob Of Myself...

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Saedcantas

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hiya guys,

I'm getting really peeved at my bettas bowl. As I said before, I have him in a 5uk gal glass bowl, unfiltered with ultrafine black gravel and a plastic ornament.

I did have two plants in there and the water just went disgusting (as in cloudy and smelling odd) in about 4 days of them being there. Last night I gave my little boy a 100% change and totally cleaned his bowl in the hopes of stemming this problem. I removed the plants and added a very small heater (suitable for up to 20l tanks).

Lo and behold less than 24 hours later the water is cloudy/milky again and I just looks dusty when it isnt :/
The little guy seems completely unphased by all this, he's swimming around and nesting happy as anything, he goes completely bananas during his 5 minutes of reflection time per day aswell :rolleyes: :)

Basically, I know that the problem is not lack of maintainance, I just dont know whats going wrong so quickly? I'm feeding him very little to be honest.

Anyway here's pics...

bubbles.JPG

badboy.JPG

Attachments

• badboy2little.jpg
    badboy2little.jpg
    75.5 KB · Views: 12
you betta is healthy thats good,

but when you clean do a 100% water change then use a paper towel to wipe everything dry.

then try the bowl without gravel, ornaments or anyting. just water. even ue bottled water if you can.

most likely you clowdy water is coming from the gravel, or just your water supply.

I got rid of gravel in my betta tanks. I just use those glass pebbles you get from the pound shops! At first the bettas flare at them but then they get used to them. They look pretty as well, and you can see if they are going to the toilet and if they are leaving food about! :lol: