Large Tank And Co2?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

DevotedToDiscus

Fish Herder
Reaction score
I have a question which hopefully someone has had experience with and can help me out.

I currently have a planted 450l tank, and am about to upgrade to a 2,000l tank. My current tank uses pressurized CO2 with a pH controller to keep the rate stable. All my plants are super green and healthy, and I have been running this tank like this for about 3 years without issue. Given the volume of the new tank my thoughts are that I would struggle to get 30ppm of dissolved CO2 without a big volume of gas flow. The tank will be running a refugium and I plan to flip-flop the lights between tank and refugium, so that while the tank lights are on, the refugium lights are off, and vise verser. I hope that the CO2 produced by the plants in the dark refugium will help the plants in the tank, etc.

So my question is, do I need to bite the bullet and run large volume CO2 input?

Thanks

Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't a refugium basically connected to the main tank, i.e. they share the same water? If this is the case you will not be able to have the co2 and light levels synchronized properly for the plants.

TwoTankAmin said:
Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't a refugium basically connected to the main tank, i.e. they share the same water? If this is the case you will not be able to have the co2 and light levels synchronized properly for the plants.