keepiong an algae free tank - help needed

merovingian

Reaction score
right, I'm moving house and I need some tips on the best position for my tank to keep it algae free, also could use some tips on other ways to keep it free of algae (fish that eat it, different grave or sand etc) Any tips would be helpful, thanks!

:) The best place is not in direct sunlight. Mine is in the middle of the room and the sun doesnt hit the tank at all.

Its the NitrAtes that feed Algae so if there high algae grow liek rabbits mate lol (correct me if im wrong on this guys..... not the rabbit bit pmsl...)

If you can keep the nitrates down you starve the algae that way it cant grow.

Have your lights on about 8 hours a day.

Plecos eat algae.

hope this helps a bit.

thanks very much for that - all good stuff.

Plecos - (sorry stupid question time - I am a beginner) thats a kind of catfish isn't it?

Anymore tips anyone?

check your tap water phosphates levels.

This plays a MAJOR role in the algae problem.

Yes, plecos are catfish. Unfortunately, most grow too large for your average aquarium and they are very messy fish. Bristlenose plecos are an exception and quite easy to find as well. IMO, however, fish like otos, flying foxes and SIAMESE algae eaters are better choices for removing algae.

there are lots of small plecs (eg 6" or less) BUT most of the smaller ones wont eat your algae.

As said Bristlenoses are perfect though - 5" max and love algae ;)

have a look at the 50L tank on my site for some pics ;)

fantastic stuff, thanks guys - ive been told that getting a clown loach or two would be a good idea too, just to keep the snails down, any thoughts?

ive a algae free tank 240 ltrs in total, my mollies just seam to love munching the algea and making babies in the meantime.

Mine get's allot of sunlight and there's never an algae problem.