Is my Swordtail pregnant If so how long until she gives birth?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Courtney Harrison

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I am new to having my own tropical fish tank. So I am not sure If my swordtail is pregnant and if so how long until she will give birth? What should I do if she does give birth? This was an unexpected pregnancy so I do not have a breeding box I have a 60-litre tank. Any help would be great!
Fish In the tank at the moment, If this helps.
  • 3 mollies (2 females and 1 male)
  • 2 swordfish (female and male)
  • 2 siamese fighting fish (2 females, they are good with other fish)
  • 4 guppies (2 female and 2 male)
  • 2 rosy barbs (female and male)
  • pleco sucker fish
  • cory catfish bottom feeder
  • and 2 other bottom feeders leopard type.

Attachments

• image1.jpg
    image1.jpg
    538.2 KB · Views: 507
  • image3.jpg
    image3.jpg
    508.5 KB · Views: 504
  • image4.jpg
    image4.jpg
    638.4 KB · Views: 532
  • image2.jpg
    image2.jpg
    535.2 KB · Views: 571
She should give birth in a week or so; the black gravid mark on her belly is a tell-tale sign.
If you don't have a place to keep the fry, get a big jar and scoop out the fry as fast as you can, then put the jar in the tank so they can see each other but don't interact until you can get a breeder net. Scoop out a little water each day and put in new water from the tank. Put some live plants in the jar so the fry feel comfortable and can find tiny natural food- sprinkle teeny bits of crushed up food in their jar a couple times a day to feed them if you don't have live foods. Good luck with your fry!
Remember, this is only for a couple days until you can get a breeder net.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

New why is no one replying? i need a answer