I'm discouraged

Ace Rimmer

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi guys

I'm pretty new to this whole fish keeping thing, but have really got into it and was quite enjoying my fish

however after one death and now I find 2 of my guppies have a terrible Camallanus worm infection :sick:

I am rather discouraged and wondering if fish keeping is for me :(

I need some kind words or something :/

:( Well, that is dicouraging, I must admit. Can you get your fish store to replace the sick fish? Unless you've had them a long time, I'm thinking they must have had these parasites when you bought them. But you said you were new to this, so . . . I would try to get them replaced, maybe with just a store credit for now until you are certain you have a healthy tank. Then when you are ready to bring home more fish, I would use extreme caution -- quarantine if at all possible, etc. This fish seller probably does not quarantine new fish, and you could wind up with another problem.

Someone else will be better qualified to help you get your tank healthy. I have been lucky and have only dealt with a bit of ich in mine.

All I can say to try to help you through this is that this is a bad day for you, and there will undoubtedly be other bad days, but I would hope that there have been far more good days than bad -- you did say you'd been enjoying the fish -- so I guess just try to put it in perspective. Some days I just rage at all my animals (though not my fish, so far :wub: ) for being so high maintenance and never giving me a moment's peace. But I can't bring myself to part with them, so I must put up with it. Perhaps you can take heart that my fish have been the least of my problems, and once you get through this it might be smooth sailing for years!

I hope that that is the case. Good luck getting back to enjoying your pets! :nod: