I want some color without overcrowding.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Catlady379

Reaction score
I have a 10 gallon tank with 2 black skirted tetras, 2 phantom tetras, and a pleco. I would love to add a fish or 2 with some color but I don't want to overcrowd the tank. I just moved them a couple of days ago from a 3.5 gallon tank and they love the bigger tank. Yes I know the other tank was too small but it was all I had when they were given to me. What can I add to my 10 gallon tank for some colorful fish if anything?

Iā€™m afraid youā€™re already overstocked with the pleco.

Iā€™m afraid youā€™re already overstocked with the pleco.
I was afraid of that. The person who had them before me had them for a couple of years in a 10 gallon tank and was moving and couldn't take them. I hardly ever see the pleco, he hides all the time. I am new to fish keeping and have been doing a LOT of googling.

Last edited:
It takes time. Youā€™ll be surprised how much youā€™ll learn. If your fish store will take the pleco you can move up to a 20G long and have more options. A 10G really isnā€™t good for much more than a betta, IMO. Petco often has $1/ gallon sales.

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

How long has the tank been set up for?

------------------------
Is the suckermouth catfish an actual Plecostomus or is it a Bristlenose catfish?
Both are referred to as plecos but one grows to 2 foot long and the other reaches 4-5 inches long.