I need Stocking Ideas!

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

snowflake311

Fish nerd
Reaction score
I have been keeping fresh water fish since 1998 I have kept all the types of fish I wanted. Now I do not know what I want for my planted 100Gal. I have always wanted to make my 100Gal into a planted tank and I have it looks amazing. One thing is What fish to put in it?

What is in it now
1 Angel fish
1 3 spot Gourami
2 sunset Gourami
2 small Electric blue acara. Will only keep one they are small and still growing.
3 Bumble bee catfish
6 cory cats
4 Otos
1 twig catfish

I am thinking more angles I was thinking Discus I kept them years ago. I would get BIG ones. Only thing is My Gourami can be a jerk but mostly to other gouramis he leaves the Angel fish alone.

I would like a School of fish but I have kept just about all the types of Tetras you can keep. I have some favorites I might go back to.

It is hard trying to stock a tank when you have had all the fish you could have ever wanted over the years. I do tend to love the South American fish Gouramis are new to me I have not had many loach. problem is I try and keep my tank like a bio type. I added the Gouramis because I had to try and them now I messed up my South American tank. I was thinking of going with an Asian tank. I have not had many of the Asian fish.........

I am just lost with stocking my tank. I do not know what to do. I can not seem to get away from the South American fish. I should go Salt water next.

Rainbowfish, see following link, and click the names on right of screen when at that link.
http://rainbowfish.angfaqld.org.au/Melano.htm

Get rid of the big fish and you can keep killifish like Aphyosemium and Epiplaty species. They are small but colourful surface dwellers.