How to cope up with fish death

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

v kun

Reaction score
Recently , my first ever mother fish died. She was a molly who was about to conceive (her 3rd time) im few days. And I was really attached to her.

I wanna know how to cope up the guilt....the insecurities , the pain , the guilt , please help guys.

Think of me as your younger brother , I am merely 16.

She was really my best friend. It hurt seeing her pass away and that too with almost on the way babies.

Please help me , any support or advice , I am scared to grow attached again and I still need to care for the molly fries I have. Please help

It will get easier with time. I remember as a child burying my dead guppy of course then I proceeded to dig her up once a week to see what she looked like (I was a future science student) but it didn't mean I didn't miss her. I'm carefully nursing a fish right now - not a clue what I'm doing.

Not all fish live very long and in an aquarium the odds are totally against them unless you do everything perfectly right - and often that is completely impossible.

Get another fish, or get attached to a different fish you already have. I once did CPR on my daughter's hamster (I used to work with rats in a research lab so I know how to do CPR on rodents). The hamster died in spite of my best efforts, my 7 yr old daughter just walked away and went back to playing- I was the one crying my eyes out.

You will get over it and move on. In fact it's probably a good idea if you learn to do that quickly when working with fish or pick something that has a better chance of living longer like a dog or cat as a pet. Millions of abandoned pets needing homes - adopt don't shop!