Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

How many filters do you use???

Discussion in 'New to the Hobby Questions and Answers' started by Ami-Jane, Nov 28, 2019.

  1. Ami-Jane

    Ami-Jane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just read this on a website from an article in the plant forum...

    “If possible, give preference to two smaller, independent filters than a single larger one. It makes things easier for you and more secure for your tank - if one of the filters clogs or stops working you don't lose all of your filtering capacity.”

    Can see the logic obviously. What do people actually do? One or two filters... more??

    Currently purchasing items for my new tank. I was going to be buying the Fluval U4 but now wondering whether to get two of the U2 or a U3 and a U1????
     
  2. essjay

    essjay Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4,692
    Likes Received:
    399
    Location:
    Teesside, UK
    I have 2 smaller filters but by accident not intention. I used to have one big one, but the motor stopped working. In the cupboard I had a smaller version of the same filter from a tank I had to close down, so I used the pump from that, then bought a second small one as it was cheaper than a new big one, and split the existing media between the two filters.
    Eheim Biopowers are good for doing this with :)
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  3. Back in the fold

    Back in the fold Fish Herder

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Billings Montana USA
    That's very good advice about two filters. Never seen anyone do it but it is a very good idea especially in a bigger tank. I have smaller tanks and I use one sponge filter but I have read that it is a good idea to run two filters in case one goes kaput or to have another ready to go in case you are setting up a new tank. The extra one gives you a cycled tank all ready to go.
     
  4. Byron

    Byron Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10,267
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Location:
    CA
    There is at first glance apparent logic to having two filters instead of one, but it is not something I would ever do, unless it was a very large tank (say, 8 feet in length). There is a lot of misunderstanding in this hobby about filters and filtration, and this only feeds that.

    An aquarium should not rely on the filter to survive. If it does, there is a serious problem. Stocking the aquarium properly for the water volume means it will manage without the filter if it should fail. The prime purpose of the filter is to create water movement and keep the water clear...which is a very different thing from clean water. Once the aquarium beecomes established (not just cycled but established) there will be more bacteria and more different species of bacteria living in the substrate than in the filter.

    The other thing is that the filter should always be suited to the needs of the fish in terms of water movement. Fish are affected by currents, just as they are by light, the "decor," and other fish species.

    Larger filters or more filters have no benefit to filtration, provided the tank is biologically balanced to begin with.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  5. Fishmanic

    Fishmanic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Global Moderator Tank of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,298
    Likes Received:
    439
    Location:
    Northeastern USA
    In 3 of my tanks I have a hob filter and also an air pump operated sponge filter.
     
  6. seangee

    seangee Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,909
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Berks
    My 3 tanks are all lightly filtered and have sponge media. From a biological perspective I am really not worried about failure. I have a spare sponge filter and air pump I use for my QT and another small spare filter that came with a new that I never used. If a filter fails I'll just swap it out and re-use the existing sponges.
     
  7. Freakshow1966

    Freakshow1966 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Drummonds TN (Memphis)
    Im running a Penguin 350 and a sponge filter in a 40 breeder. Overkill yes but if i ever lose power i can run the sponge filter off a battery backup air pump.
     
  8. Al1ce

    Al1ce New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2019
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
     
  9. Retired Viking

    Retired Viking Fish Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2019
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    north woods
    I am using an under gravel filter in my 55 gallon tank for now.
     

Share This Page