Hiya All

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Boyden

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the hobby really.  I have a community tank with Platy's, Golden Pleco's, Panda Cory's and Peppered Cory's.  The plec's server the usual purpose although I wish I had purchased differently, they're entertaining.  My Platy's are nice and colourful and always on the move amongst my plants and the Cory's are hysterical to watch!

I really enjoy the hobby and previously I managed an exotic pet shop and bred and kept a range of Snakes, lizards, tarantulas and other invertebrates.  However, alas I had three kids and all that had to slowly fizzle out.  Now the entire family enjoy looking after our community tank and I'm hoping to try to hatch out some Killifish 'Fundulopanchax Gardneri Jos Plateau'.  I may have bitten off more than I can chew but I'll find out when the eggs arrive in the post.

I look forward to bugging you all with novice questions one after the other I have no doubt!

Cheers

Marc

welcomeani.gif

How big is your tank? How long have you had it set up? How many of each fish do you have? As soon as you can manage it, we'd love to see photos!

One more question: what kind of substrate do you have?

That is all (for now).

It's a 54 litre tank if memory serves.

I've had the tank for a few months.

I have 4 Peppered Cory's (still only small), 4 Panda Cory's (still small also), 8 Platy's and 2 golden plec.  All the fish seem content but I think we're considering getting a larger tank on the go to cycle so that the Cory's will have more space as they grow.

The substrate is a fine gravel but I have concerns the Cory's may damage their barbels (not that there's any sign yet).  So sand may be a consideration for the future.

I'll put a photo up a little later.

fish.gif

Welcome to the forum, Marc! 
welcomeani.gif