High ammonia help!!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Jennifer Deleon

Reaction score
Hi guys! I am new to the fish keeping. I recently started. I have a 20 gallon tank long. I have a whisper 40i filter and a preset tank heater 100wt. I have 3 Cory's, 1 beta, 3 balloon rams, 2 mollies, 8 cardinal tetras, 6 platies. I have tested the water I have gotten everything good but the ammonia. I tested it earlier (I got a master test kit) which is how i found out my ammonia was pretty high And got 1ppm which is super high. I then
20190714_021209.jpg
20190714_020409.jpg
20190714_020424.jpg
20190714_020621.jpg
20190714_020317.jpg
added an ammonia blocker. Came back nothing and I noticed one dead tetra. I did a 50 percent water change added the water conditioner and some more ammonia blocker. Now my platies are showing red gills, and one of my rams to. My beta is hiding under a log. And now my platies on top of red gills are having clamp fins.
*also, this is maybe a week and a couple days that I have had this new tank. I got 2 fish 2 days after I set it up due to the pet store saying to wait a couple days and test the water to make sure it's good. It was "good" after 2 days and got the 2 mollies. Then 2 days later I got more fish. And two days later I got more fish. Ending up with the amount mentioned earlier.
Am I experiencing new tank syndrome?
How can I help them survive?!
. Any advice and help will be appreciated!!

The first thing is to test for ammonia and nitrite at least once a day, and do a big water change whenever you see either of them above zero.